MPOnStage Top Banner for Tickets

Lynn Aherns and Stephen FlahertyLynn Aherns (Book & Lyrics)
Lynn Ahrens won theatre's triple crown – the 1998 Tony Award, Drama Desk Award and Outer Critics Circle Award – for the score of the Broadway musical Ragtime (book by Terrence McNally) and received two Grammy nominations for its cast recordings. Also in 1998, she received two Academy Award nominations and two Golden Globe nominations for the songs and score of Anastasia, Twentieth Century Fox's first feature animation.

Most recently Ms. Ahrens was represented on Broadway with book and lyrics for Seussical (Grammy nomination) and off-Broadway with lyrics for A Man of No Importance at Lincoln Center Theatre. (book by Terrence McNally, 2003 Outer Critics Circle Award, Best Musical). She wrote the book and lyrics for the long-running Broadway hit Once on This Island (London's Olivier Award, Best Musical, two Tony nominations); book and lyrics for Lucky Stiff (Helen Hayes Award, Best Musical.) Lyrics, My Favorite Year (Lincoln Center Theatre) All the above have music by long-time collaborator Stephen Flaherty.

Ms. Ahrens is the lyricist and co-book writer for A Christmas Carol, (music by Alan Menken, co-book by Mike Ockrent) which has ran for ten years at Madison Square Garden. For her work in network television as a songwriter, creator and producer, Ms. Ahrens has received the Emmy Award and four Emmy nominations. Her songs are a mainstay of the renowned animated series Schoolhouse Rock. She is a member of ASCAP, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences; she serves on the Dramatists Guild Council and the Board of Directors of Young Playwrights, Inc; she co-chairs the Dramatists Guild's Jonathon Larson Musical Theatre Fellows Program.

Stephen Flaherty (Composer)
Stephen Flaherty has written music for theater, film and the concert hall. He won the Tony, Drama Desk and Outer Critics Circle Awards for his music for the Broadway production of Ragtime. Mr. Flaherty was also nominated for the Grammy Award for the recordings Songs From Ragtime and Ragtime: Original Broadway Cast Recording.

Other Broadway composing credits include: Seussical (Drama Desk and Grammy Award nominations), Once On This Island (Tony nominations for Best Score and Best Musical; Olivier Award for London's Best Musical), My Favorite Year (Lincoln Center Theatre) and Neil Simon's Proposals (incidental music).

He is also the composer of A Man Of No Importance, which was produced in New York last season by Lincoln Center Theatre, Gertrude Stein's A Long Gay Book (directed and adapted by Frank Galati), and the musical farce Lucky Stiff. His film work includes Anastasia (Academy Award nominations for Best Score and Best Song; 2 Golden Globe nominations). His concert pieces have been performed at the Hollywood Bowl and Carnegie Hall among others.

© 2017 Maurer Productions OnStage. All rights reserved. Contact | Terms | Privacy Policy